IPL 2022: Purse of all eight franchises after retention; Delhi Capitals have the smallest purse

The list of retained players was released on Tuesday by all eight franchises ahead of the Indian Premier League (IPL) auctions for the 2022 season. Some of the choices were clear, but some conspicuous omissions stunned many fans.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Delhi Capitals (DC), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), and Mumbai Indians (MI) retained four players each. Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), selected three players each. Only two players have been retained by the Punjab Kings (PBKS).
Now that the retentions have been decided, teams must achieve the appropriate balance by selecting players in the mega auction, which will commence later this month. Each franchise had a purse of INR 90 crore, but following the retention procedure, some sums were withdrawn. Let’s take a look at the budgets available to each franchise for the next mega auction:

Mumbai Indians – 48 crore rupees

Rohit Sharma (INR 16 crore), Jasprit Bumrah (INR 12 crore), Suryakumar Yadav (INR 8 crore), and Kieron Pollard (INR 8 crore) were retained by Mumbai Indians (MI) (INR 6 crore).

Punjab Kings  – INR 72 crore

Mayank Agarwal (INR 12 crore) and Arshdeep Singh (INR 12 crore) were the only two players retained by Punjab Kings (INR 4 crore).

Kolkata Knight Riders – INR 48 crore

Andre Russell (INR 12 crore), Varun Chakravarthy (INR 8 crore), Venkatesh Iyer (INR 8 crore), and Sunil Narine (INR 8 crore) were all retained by Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) (INR 6 crore).

Hyderabad Sunrisers – INR 68 crore

Kane Williamson (INR 14 crore), Abdul Samad (INR 4 crore), and Umran Malik have all been retained by Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) (INR 4 crore).

Bangalore Royal Challengers – INR 57 crore

Virat Kohli (INR 15 crore), Glenn Maxwell (INR 11 crore), and Mohammed Siraj were all retained by Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) (INR 7 crore).

Delhi Capitals – INR 47.5 crore 

Rishabh Pant (INR 16 crore), Prithvi Shaw (INR 9 crore), Anrich Nortje (INR 7.5 crore), and Axar Patel were all retained by the Delhi Capitals (DC) (INR 6.5 crore).

Rajasthan Royals – 62 crore rupees

Sanju Samson (INR 14 crore), Jos Buttler (INR 10 crore), and Yashasvi Jaiswal were all retained by Rajasthan Royals (RR) (INR 4 crore).

Chennai Super Kings – INR 48 crore

Ravindra Jadeja (INR 16 crore), MS Dhoni (INR 12 crore), Moeen Ali (INR 8 crore), and Ruturaj Gaikwad (INR 8 crore) were all retained by Chennai Super Kings (CSK) (INR 6 crore).

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More