Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan ODI Series: Schedule and Venue

Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan: Crucial ODI Series for hosts to prepare for World Cup Qualifiers. Here is the match schedule, where to watch and other details.

Sri Lanka will host Afghanistan for a 3-match ODI series. It will be a crucial series for the hosts who will use these three matches in order to prepare for the 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualifiers. Afghanistan on the other hand can use these three games for the 2023 Cricket World Cup which will be held later in the year in India. Pitches and conditions in Sri Lanka are quite similar to India. Sri Lanka will be playing in the Cricket World Cup Qualifiers from 19th June onwards in Zimbabwe. The 1996 World Cup-winning nation is placed in Group B of World Cup Qualifiers along with Ireland, Oman, Scotland and the United Arab Emirates. West Indies is probably the biggest cricketing nation that would be playing the Qualifiers too. The two-time World Cup Champions (in 1975 and 1979) are placed in Group A of Qualifiers along with Nepal, the Netherlands, the United States of America and the hosts, Zimbabwe. 

Here is the schedule for the Afghanistan tour of Sri Lanka.

1st ODI


2nd June, 10:00 AM IST at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium, Hambantota 

2nd ODI

4th June, 10:00 AM IST at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium, Hambantota 

3rd ODI

7th June, 10:00 AM IST at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium, Hambantota 

The venue for all three games will be Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium, Hambantota. The stadium over the years has been favourable to pacers in the bowling department. 300+ scores have been scored 10 times on this ground. The highest score on this ground is 368 by Sri Lanka against Pakistan in 2015. If the pitch behaves in a similar manner we can expect a run-fest of a ODI series.

Where to watch?

The Afghanistan tour of Sri Lanka can be watched on Sony Sports Network. Sony Sports Ten 5 and Sony Sports Ten 5 HD will broadcast the matches on television. Sony Liv will live stream the matches.

Afghanistan’s Squad

Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Ibrahim Zadran, Riaz Hassan, Najibullah Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ikram Alikhil (wk), Rahmat Shah, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Abdul Rahman, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad Malik

Also Read: The Ashes: Schedule, Venue and other details

 “Get more sports news, cricket news, and football updates, log on to Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe to our YouTube Channel.”

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More