AIFF announces 17-member Men’s Squad for Asian Games in Hangzhou

The All India Football Federation (AIFF) has unveiled a 17-member men’s squad for the upcoming Asian Games in Hangzhou, China.

The All India Football Federation (AIFF) has officially announced the composition of the men’s squad comprising 17 players who will represent India at the upcoming Asian Games to be held in Hangzhou, China.

In their squad announcement, the AIFF extended its gratitude to both the Indian Super League (ISL) clubs and the Football Sports Development Limited (FSDL) for their collaboration with the national body in facilitating the release of players for the Asian Games.

Kalyan Chaubey, President of the AIFF, acknowledged the challenging and demanding nature of the current football season in India. He emphasized the packed schedule, which posed significant management challenges, and the numerous domestic and international events involving India’s National Teams and ISL clubs.


Chaubey highlighted the importance of balancing the busy domestic football calendar, which includes an increased number of matches in the top domestic league and the participation of certain clubs in Asian competitions. Additionally, he mentioned the upcoming general elections and the need to avoid adverse weather conditions in specific regions, which led to schedule adjustments and a shortened domestic calendar.

The AIFF President expressed his appreciation for the active support and cooperation received from the Government of India, particularly the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. He credited this support for enabling the Indian National Team to participate in the Asian Games after a gap of nine years.

Chaubey conveyed his confidence in the Indian team’s ability to perform admirably at the Asian Games and contribute to the progress of Indian football.

The 17-member squad for the Asian Games includes the following players: Gurmeet Singh, Dheeraj Singh Moirangthem, Sumit Rathi, Narender Gahlot, Amarjit Singh Kiyam, Samuel James, Rahul KP, Abdul Rabeeh Anjukandan, Ayush Dev Chhetri, Bryce Miranda, Azfar Noorani, Rahim Ali, Vincy Bareto, Sunil Chhetri, Rohit Danu, Gurkirat Singh, and Aniket Jadhav.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More