IPL Records and Statistics: Individual Batting Records – Most Sixes Scored

Chris Gayle, one of the most powerful hitters in the league, leads the sixes chart with 357 to his name. Read to know more about the batsmen and record made.

Everyone who loves cricket can’t wait for the Indian Premier League. Fours and sixes entertaining is a big part of why the IPL is so popular. Batsmen are at their best when they can freely roam the boundaries and hit for boundaries. It is essential for every club competing in the Indian Premier League (IPL) to have power hitters in their batting order. This is because of the high level of competition. When some of a team’s players can easily hit big sixes, that team has a huge advantage over the other teams. The power plays, and the deathovers are when you find their usefulness the most. Because of this, some baseball teams position their most explosive players in either the last spot of the inning or the first spot to bat in the first inning. Who among IPL batsmen, though, has hit the most sixes?

Here is the list of the most sixes scored in IPL history:

Rank Player Sixes Team Inning
1 Chris Gayle 357 KKR/RCB/PBKS 141
2 Rohit Sharma 257 DC/MI 238
3 AB de Villers 251 DD/RCB 170
4 MS Dhoni 239 CSK/RPS 218
5 Virat Kohli 234 RCB 229



Chris Gayle – 357 Sixes

Chris Gayle, one of the most powerful hitters in the league, leads the sixes chart with 357 to his name. He has hit sixes in 141 of his innings in the lucrative league. Bowlers have a lot of respect for the T20 legend, as his strike rate of 148.96 is more than ample proof. Gayle has scored 4965 runs in the IPL, with six hundred and 31 half-centuries contributing to his 39.72 batting average.

AB de Villers – 251 Sixes

In the entire history of the Indian Premier League, AB DE Villers has hit the second most sixes (251 total) of any player. The flamboyant batsman from South Africa is known as “MR 360” because of his ability to knock the ball in all directions on the playing field. For bowlers everywhere, AB is the worst possible condition. He can knock sixes over the ropes against any bowler. At a strike rate of 151.68 runs per match, AB has scored 5162 runs throughout 184 games. Every team in the world is trying to sign him because he is such a valuable player. In the 2018 Indian Premier League, he scored the longest six of his career (111 Meters).

Rohit Sharma – 240 Sixes

In the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL), Rohit Sharma has struck the most sixes of any Indian player. Rohit has 234 sixes to his name in the league and 508 fours that he has struck. After 216 innings, he has racked up more than 5500 runs, giving him an average of 30.65. The most titles won by any captain in the competition’s history is five, and Rohit has won them all with the Mumbai club.

MS Dhoni – 229 Sixes

MS Dhoni, who captains the Chennai Super Kings, is now ranked fourth on the list of cricketers who have hit the most sixes during the IPL. In addition to the 339 fours he hit, he smacked 224 sixes and 224 fours in 200 innings. Dhoni has a strike rate of 135.76 despite averaging just under 40 in the league. Since the beginning of the tournament in 2008, he has been the captain of the Chennai Super Kings, leading to four victories.

Virat Kohli – 234 Sixes

Virat Kohli, who plays for the Royal Challengers Banglore, is a powerful batter who has smashed 234 sixes during the Indian Premier League. Kieron Pollard is renowned for his lightning-fast innings when he plays cricket. Up to this point, King Kohli has competed in 237 matches and smashed 7263 runs with a strike rate of 130.02. In the Indian Premier League (IPL), Virat Kohli is the highest run scorer and he also has the most centuries(7) in the IPL

Also Read: IND v SA: Rahul’s half-century after Rabada 5-44 helps India reach 208/8 as rain ends Day 1

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More