IPL Records and Statistics: Result Records Made – Lowest Successful Defence

The IPL is the cricket league with the highest attendance worldwide. According to average attendance across all sports leagues in 2014, it came in sixth place.

A men’s T20 franchise cricket league in India is known as the Indian Premier League (IPL). Ten teams representing seven Indian cities and three Indian states compete in it every year. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) established the league in 2007. IPL’s current chairman is Brijesh Patel. 

It typically takes place between March and May every year in India during the summer and has an exclusive window in the ICC Future Tours Programme. The IPL was the first athletic event in history to have a live YouTube broadcast in 2010. In 2022, the IPL had a brand value of 90,038 crores ($11 billion). [8] The BCCI estimates that the 2015 IPL season increased India’s GDP by 1,150 crores ($140 million).

Lowest Successful Defence on Result Records of IPL Matches:

Target Team Opposition Score Venue Date
120 PBKS MI 116/7 Kingsmead, Durban, South Africa 29 April 2009
120 SRH PWI 108 Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune, India 17 April 2013
120 MI PWI 119/6 Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune, India 3 May 2012
119 SRH MI 87 Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, India 24 April 2018
117 CSK PBKS 92/8 Kingsmead, Durban, South Africa 20 May 2009

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is an Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise cricket team headquartered in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India. The 2008-founded team competes in its home games at Chennai’s M. A. Chidambaram Stadium. India Cement Limited owns the team via the holding company Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited. The team’s owners’ involvement in the 2013 IPL betting case resulted in a two-year suspension from the IPL, which began in July 2015. The team won the title in its 2018 comeback season. MS Dhoni serves as the team’s captain, and Stephen Fleming is the head coach. CSK became the country’s first unicorn sports organisation in January 2022.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India was given till March 25, 2014, by the Supreme Court of India, in which case Srinivasan’s presidency would have to be terminated. The owners of the Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings were banned from the Indian Premier League for two years on July 14, 2015, by the RM Lodha Committee. The Chennai Super Kings’ appeal for the ban to be lifted was accepted for hearing by the Supreme Court of India on February 24.

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad, sometimes known as SunRisers Hyderabad or just SRH, is an Indian Premier League franchise cricket team headquartered in Hyderabad, Telangana (IPL). After the IPL disbanded the Hyderabad-based Deccan Chargers, the franchise was created in 2012 and is owned by Kalanithi Maran of the SUN Group. Brian Lara now serves as the team’s head coach. Their principal home field is Hyderabad’s Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, which can hold 55,000 spectators.

In 2013, the club made its debut in the IPL. They advanced to the playoffs and ultimately took fourth place. In the 2016 IPL season, the Sunrisers won the championship after defeating the Royal Challengers Bangalore by an 8-run margin. Every year since 2016, the squad has advanced to the tournament’s playoff round. The team competed in the Indian Premier League in 2018 but fell to Chennai Super Kings in the championship game.

Punjab Kings

The Indian Premier League’s franchise cricket team, the Punjab Kings (PBKS), is situated in Mohali, Punjab (IPL). The franchise’s co-owners are Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, and Karan Paul. It was founded in 2008 under the name Kings XI Punjab (KXIP). The PCA Stadium in Mohali is where the squad plays its home games. Since 2010, they have also played a few of their home matches at Indore or Dharamsala. The team had only made one additional playoff appearance in 13 seasons, in 2014, when they finished runners-up and atop the league standings.

Mumbai Indians

The Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the Indian Premier League, having won five championships. They are a franchise cricket team headquartered in Mumbai, Maharashtra. The squad was established in 2008, and Reliance Industries, the largest conglomerate in India, owns 100% of its 100% subsidiary Indian Sports. Since its founding, the team has played its home games at Mumbai’s 33,108-seat Wankhede Stadium.

The Mumbai Indians were the first IPL franchise to surpass the $100 million brand value threshold in 2017. For the fourth year in a row, Mumbai Indians’ brand value is the highest of all IPL teams, expected to be about 809 crores (nearly $115 million) in 2019.

“Get more sports news, cricket news, and football updates, log on to sportsdigest.in. Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe to our YouTube Channel.”

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More