Abu Dhabi T10 2023: Pre-Signed Players and Retentions Announced for Eight Participating Teams

The 2023 Abu Dhabi T10 cricket tournament announces its pre-signed players and player retentions for the eight participating teams.

Ahead of the 2023 edition of the Abu Dhabi T10 cricket tournament, the Player’s Draft was unveiled, featuring eight participating teams: Bangla Tigers, Chennai Braves, Deccan Gladiators, Delhi Bulls, Morrisville Samp Army, New York Strikers, Northern Warriors, and Team Abu Dhabi. These teams have also announced their lists of retained players and direct signings for the upcoming season.

The 2023 season attracted a total of 782 players from around the world, including some of the biggest names in international cricket. Notable players in the Icon Stars category, who will be available for selection, include former Pakistan great Shahid Afridi, along with Mohammad Hafeez, Wahab Riaz, Tamim Iqbal, and Dasun Shanaka.

Among the pre-signed players, former Indian cricket stars Ambati Rayudu and Yusuf Pathan have joined the league. Pathan will represent the Bangla Tigers, while Rayudu has signed with the Delhi Bulls.


Expressing his excitement for the tournament, Yusuf Pathan stated, “The 10-over format is exciting, and I am always delighted to be a part of the league. My aim is to entertain the fans and help my team win the trophy this season.”

The Deccan Gladiators, the reigning champions of the 2022 season, have retained powerhouse Nicholas Pooran, who was the leading run-scorer in the previous season. Chennai Braves have retained Captain Sikandar Raza, known for his consistency.

Also Read: Hockey India Reveals 20-Member Indian Jr Men’s Team for 11th Sultan of Johor Cup 2023

Pakistan pacer Hassan Ali has been pre-signed by the Chennai Braves, while the defending champions, Deccan Gladiators, have added New Zealand speedster Trent Boult to their squad. Morrisville Samp Army has secured the services of former South Africa Captain Faf du Plessis, among other new signings.

The New York Strikers, the runners-up from the last season, have retained former West Indies Captain Kieron Pollard, while Morrisville Samp Army has kept Moeen Ali. Team Abu Dhabi retained Philip Salt and Alex Hales, two game-changers.

Northern Warriors retained all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga, while Bangla Tigers held on to veteran Shakib al Hasan. Delhi Bulls retained dynamic Windies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo.

The Platinum category of the player’s draft includes England spinner Adil Rashid, Australia’s batsman Chris Lynn, Kusal Mendis, Liton Das, Mohammad Nabi, and Rahmanullah Gurbaz. The remaining players are divided into five other categories: Cat A, Cat B, Cat C, Emerging, and UAE local players, all of whom will be available for selection during the draft.

Shaji Ul Mulk, Chairman of T10 Global, expressed his anticipation for the draft, stating, “The franchises have made their first moves with smart player retentions and direct signings. Some selections may come as a surprise, indicating the teams already have a few tricks up their sleeves, promising another high-octane draft day and an even more exciting edition of the Abu Dhabi T10.”

Cricket’s fastest format continues to gain popularity each year, thanks to the support of partners such as the Department of Culture & Tourism – Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi Sports Council, and Abu Dhabi Cricket & Sports Hub.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More