Leading Wicket-Takers in Asia Cup 2023: Stay Updated

Get the latest on the top wicket-takers in the Asia Cup 2023 cricket tournament featuring six teams, with matches played in Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

The Asia Cup 2023 cricket tournament kicked off on August 30 and is set to conclude on September 17. This edition of the Asia Cup features six participating teams and will see a total of 13 One Day Internationals (ODIs) played over two weeks in both Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

The six teams in contention for the 16th Asia Cup include Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Notably, this marks the first time that the Asia Cup is being hosted across multiple countries.

In accordance with the Asia Cup 2023 format, these six teams have been divided into two groups, each consisting of three teams. Group A comprises India, Pakistan, and Nepal, while Group B includes Afghanistan, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka.


Each team will face the other sides once in their respective groups. The top two teams from each group will progress to the Super Four stage of the Asia Cup. Eventually, the top two teams from the Super Four stage will square off in the Asia Cup 2023 final, scheduled for September 17.

The Asia Cup 2023 matches will be held at two venues: the Multan Cricket Stadium and Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium in Pakistan, hosting four matches, and the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo and Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Sri Lanka, hosting the remaining nine matches.

Some of the world’s premier ODI bowlers, including Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Mohammed Siraj, Rashid Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Kuldeep Yadav, Shakib Al Hasan, Matheesha Pathirana, and Jasprit Bumrah, are expected to play pivotal roles for their respective teams in this year’s Asia Cup.

In the history of the Asia Cup (ODI format), legendary Sri Lankan off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan holds the record for the most wickets. Between 1995 and 2010, Muralitharan claimed 30 wickets in 24 matches.

Overall, Lasith Malinga, another Sri Lankan compatriot, holds the record for the most wickets in Asia Cup history, combining both ODI and T20I formats. He secured 33 wickets in just 15 matches during the period from 2004 to 2018.

Asia Cup 2023 has already witnessed notable performances, with Pakistan’s Shadab Khan and Sri Lankan pacer Matheesha Pathirana being the first two bowlers to achieve four-wicket hauls in the tournament. Stay tuned for updates on the leading wicket-takers in Asia Cup 2023.

Have a look at the highest wicket-takers of Asia Cup 2023

Rank Player Team Matches Wickets
1 Matheesha Pathirana Sri Lanka 5 11
2 Dunith Wellalage Sri Lanka 5 10
3 Shaheen Afridi Pakistan 5 10
4 Kuldeep Yadav India 4 9
5 Haris Rauf Pakistan 4 9
6 Taskin Ahmed Bangladesh 4 9
7 Maheesh Theekshana Sri Lanka 5 8
8 Shoriful Islam Bangladesh 4 7
9 Naseem Shah Pakistan 4 7
10 Shadab Khan Pakistan 5 6

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More