T20 World Cup: Pakistan beat New Zealand by 5 Wickets, register their 2nd straight win

It was an excellent bowling performance by Pakistan to restrict New Zealand to 134 runs. In the end, Shoaib Malik and Asif Ali chased the total after New Zealand’s fightback.

The 19th Match of the 2021 T20 World Cup is an encounter between Pakistan and New Zealand played on Tuesday, October 26, 2021, at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, United Arab Emirates.

Pakistan vs New Zealand is a Group 2 encounter of the Super 12 round at the 2021 T20 World Cup. New Zealand played their tournament opener whereas Pakistan is playing their second match. Earlier, Pakistan won against their arch-rivals India by 10 Wickets.

The Line-up for Pakistan vs New Zealand

Pakistan won the toss & decided to bowl.

Pakistan’s dominating bowling performance continues, as they beat New Zealand by 5 wickets

1st Innings – New Zealand puts 134 Runs on the board

It was a great start by Pakistan as Shaheen Afridi bowled a maiden over.

New Zealand, however, lost their first wicket in the last over of the powerplay as Martin Guptill departed after being bowled out by Haris Rauf. Unfortunately, for Guptill, the ball hit his pads and followed on to hit the stump. New Zealand were 36/1 (5.2 overs).

Two wickets fell in quick succession for New Zealand as Daryl Mitchell 27 (off 20) & James Neesham walked back to the pavilion. At this stage, New Zealand was at 56/3 (9.1 overs).

Pakistan bagged the wicket of Kane Williamson due to a good fielding effort, as the New Zealand skipper was run-out. Williamson had scored 25 runs (off 26 balls). New Zealand found themselves at 90/4 (13.1 overs).

In the death overs, four wickets fell for New Zealand – out of which Haris Rauf took 3. As a result, New Zealand finished their innings at 134/8 (20 overs).

2nd Innings – Pakistan’s target is 135 Runs 

The first wicket to fall is of Pakistan’s captain Babar Azam who got bowled out by Tim Southee in the last over of the powerplay. Pakistan were 28/1 (5.1 overs).

By the 11th over, they lost two more wickets of Fakhar Zaman and Mohammad Hafeez and were 63/3 (10.6 overs).

Then, a breakthrough for New Zealand as the set opener Mohammad Rizwan got out due to an LBW decision, bowled by Ish Sodhi. Rizwan had scored 33 runs (off 34 balls).

The final wicket to fall was of Imad Wasim, an LBW decision bowled by Trent Boult. At that stage, Pakistan were 87/5 (14.5 overs).

The pair to guide Pakistan to victory was of Shoaib Malik and Asif Ali when they were in trouble. Asif Ali hitting two sixes off Tim Southee closed the gap and reduced the required run rate. Both remained unbeaten with – Shoaib Malik’s 26* (off 20) & Asif Ali’s 27*(off 12). Thus, Pakistan finished at 135/5 (18.4 overs).

As a result, Pakistan won the match by 5 Wickets. Hence, the Player of the Match was awarded to Haris Rauf for his bowling spell of 4/22.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Get your daily dose of Cricket, Football, Tennis & other favorite sports with handpicked stories delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More